Rep. Tom Cole and Sen. Roy Blunt to receive FASEB award

The Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB) will honor Rep. Tom Cole and Sen. Roy Blunt with the FASEB Public Service Award at a reception on March 2. The awardees, Chairmen of the House and Senate Appropriations Subcommittees on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education Related Agencies, spearheaded bipartisan efforts to increase funding for the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

As part of the fiscal year 2016 Omnibus Spending Bill, Chairman Blunt and Chairman Cole secured NIH its largest budget increase in twelve years. This boost is an important first step in reversing a 22 percent decline in the inflation-adjusted NIH budget since 2003.

"Our nation's laboratories are ground zero for the development of new technologies and treatments for devastating diseases affecting communities across the world," said FASEB President Parker B. Antin, PhD. "FASEB is grateful to Chairmen Blunt and Cole for their commitment to invest in biomedical research. Their efforts to champion NIH will have lasting effects and will help the United States maintain its status as a global leader in research and development," he said.

The FASEB Public Service Award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to biological and medical research through their work in government, public affairs, journalism, science policy, or related fields. Previous recipients include NIH Director, Dr. James A. Shannon; former Deputy Directors, Dr. Ruth L. Kirschstein and Dr. Raynard S. Kington; Senators Arlen Specter and Tom Harkin; and Representatives John Porter, David Obey, and Michael Castle.


FASEB is composed of 30 societies with more than 125,000 members, making it the largest coalition of biomedical research associations in the United States. Our mission is to advance health and welfare by promoting progress and education in biological and biomedical sciences through service to our member societies and collaborative advocacy.

Media Contact

Debra Speert
[email protected]