National Academy of Medicine and FDA announce the 2018 Tobacco Regulatory Science Fellows

July 26, 2018 – WASHINGTON — The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) along with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's Center for Tobacco Products (CTP) have named the 2018-2019 class of FDA Tobacco Regulatory Science Fellows. Six individuals were selected through a highly selective national competition based on their exceptional, diverse professional qualifications to contribute to the work of CTP.

The 12-month fellowship will begin in September at CTP headquarters in Maryland. Each fellow will be assigned to an office within CTP. The fellows will lead specific projects related to tobacco-product regulation, as well as actively participate in the development of CTP's science-based public health strategies. In addition, they will participate in structured orientation and professional development activities, including opportunities to meet with FDA, CTP, and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services leadership. The fellows will also receive mentorship from senior staff at CTP who will guide them throughout the fellowship. The goal of the experience is to enrich the fellows' understanding about tobacco products, including their health consequences, and provide opportunities to learn about and contribute to the tobacco regulatory activities of a prominent public health regulatory agency.

  <p>&quot;This fellowship offers a unique opportunity for trainees to learn directly from the nation's top experts in tobacco product regulation and apply their diverse expertise to contribute to public health and regulatory activities,&quot; said NAM President Victor J. Dzau.  &quot;The NAM is pleased to work alongside the FDA Center for Tobacco Products to offer this collaborative and productive program for these six emerging leaders in tobacco regulatory science.&quot;</p>    <p><strong>The 2018-2019 fellows are:</strong></p>      <ul><li>Frank Bandiera, Ph.D., assistant professor, School of Public Health, University of Texas, Dallas    </li><li>Megan Hicks, M.P.H., executive director, South Carolina Tobacco-Free Collaborative, Columbia   </li><li>Catherine Kemp, M.H.A., doctoral candidate, Tobacco Center of Regulatory Science, School of Public Health, Georgia State University, Atlanta   </li><li>Mauricio Rangel-Gomez, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow, Tobacco Center of Regulatory Science, School of Public Health, University of Maryland, College Park     </li><li>Samantha Reilly, Ph.D., postdoctoral scholar, Tobacco Center of Regulatory Science, department of public health sciences, Pennsylvania State University, Hershey   </li><li>Jamie Tam, Ph.D., researcher, department of health management and policy, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor</li></ul>      <p>&quot;We welcome the new class of fellows and are pleased to have the opportunity to work with these bright leaders,&quot; said Mitch Zeller, director of FDA's Center for Tobacco Products. &quot;CTP offers an exciting public health experience to the fellows marked by cutting-edge research, policy and regulatory authority, and the opportunity to work with a truly dynamic staff.&quot;</p>  <p>###</p>   <p>Launched in 2012, the FDA Tobacco Regulatory Science Fellowship Program aims to provide an opportunity for mid-career professionals to gain experience and expertise to further define and develop the field of regulatory science as it relates to tobacco products and FDA's authorities under the Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act.  For more information, visit</p>    <p>The National Academy of Medicine, established in 1970 as the Institute of Medicine, is an independent organization of eminent professionals from diverse fields including health and medicine; the natural, social, and behavioral sciences; and beyond.  It serves alongside the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering as an adviser to the nation and the international community.  Through its domestic and global initiatives, the NAM works to address critical issues in health, medicine, and related policy and inspire positive action across sectors.  The NAM collaborates closely with its peer academies and other divisions within the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.</p>   <p><strong>Contacts:</strong></p>  <p>Dana Korsen, Media Relations Officer  <br />Andrew Robinson, Media Relations Assistant  <br />Office of News and Public Information  <br />202-334-2138  <br />e-mail [email protected]  <br />  <br />Follow us on Twitter at @theNASEM and @theNAMedicine</p>            <p><strong>Media Contact</strong></p>    <p>Dana Korsen<br />[email protected]<br />202-334-2138<br /> @theNASEM