Meytal Landau to receive 2019 BPS Margaret Dayhoff Award

ROCKVILLE, MD – The Biophysical Society (BPS) has named Meytal Landau, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Biology, Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel, as its 2019 Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award winner. Landau will be honored at the Society's 63rd Annual Meeting at the Baltimore Convention Center on March 5, 2019, during the annual Awards Symposium.

Landau will be recognized for her outstandingly creative and committed work in solving difficult research problems, including how small molecules bind to amyloid-like fibers and structural characterization of new alpha-helical amyloid forms.

"We must continue to highlight the contributions of women to our scientific knowledge and understanding and further develop a cadre of diverse and inclusive researchers," said BPS President Angela Gronenborn, University of Pittsburgh. "Meytal is a woman on the move and we look forward to calling attention to her creative research."

The Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award is given to a woman who holds very high promise or has achieved prominence while developing the early stages of a career in biophysical research, within the purview and interest of the Biophysical Society. The award honors the memory of Dr. Margaret Dayhoff, former President of the Biophysical Society, Professor of Biophysics at Georgetown University, and Director of Research at the National Biomedical Research Foundation.


The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

Media Contact

Sean Winkler
[email protected]