ICCP director Axel Timmermann receives Milutin Milankovic Medal


Credit: ICCP

Pusan National University's Distinguished Professor Axel Timmermann and Director of the IBS Center for Climate Physics (ICCP), has been awarded the 2017 Milutin Milankovic Medal for his fundamental and pioneering contributions to the understanding of climate dynamics.

The Milutin Milankovic Medal is one of the highest honors bestowed by the European Geosciences Union (EGU) upon scientists working in the field of climate change and modeling. Since 1993 the EGU Division on Climate: Past, Present & Future has awarded this medal to 25 other outstanding scientists.

Prof. Timmermann was selected for the medal as he "represents a rare example of a truly universal scientist who made significant contributions to understanding climate dynamics on very different spatial and temporal scales relevant both for past and future climate change" (Milutin Milankovic Medal 2017, http://www.egu.eu/awards-medals/milutin-milankovic/2017/axel-timmermann/).

Prof. Timmermann has made major contributions in a range of topics, including: El Niño-Southern Oscillation (ENSO) dynamics, abrupt climate change, dynamics of thermohaline circulation (ocean circulation driven by differences in seawater density), glacial dynamics, and human migration.

Prof. Timmermann joined the Institute for Basic Science (IBS) in January 2017.


Media Contact

Dahee Carol Kim
[email protected]


Original Source