Finalists of the 2016 Reaxys® PhD Prize announced


New York, NY, May 31, 2016 – Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services, today announced the 45 finalists for the 2016 Reaxys PhD Prize. Selected from nearly 450 submissions from around the globe, these 45 talented chemists join the Reaxys Prize Club, a community of inspiring minds making meaningful contributions to chemistry. As part of this community, the finalists have the opportunity to share their work, connect with internationally recognized chemists and drive their research forward. Since its launch in 2010, the Reaxys PhD Prize has aimed to recognize chemistry PhD students and recent graduates, fostering creativity in ground-breaking chemistry by identifying tomorrow's chemistry leaders and empowering them to magnify the impact of their work.

All 45 finalists are invited to present their research at the 2016 Reaxys PhD Prize Symposium, September 22 and 23, 2016, in London, at New Scientist Live.

At the Reaxys Prize Symposium a shortlist of the finalists will give oral presentations. From these presentations, the Reaxys Advisory Board and Prize coordinators will select the three winners of the 2016 Reaxys PhD Prize, based on the originality, innovation, relevance and methodological rigor of the presented work. The winners will be announced at the banquet following the Symposium.

"This year more than 80 international chemists from academia and industry have reviewed the candidates. The reviewers help maintain the high standards that the Reaxys PhD Prize strives for," said Prof. Gerard Parkin of Columbia University, one of the Prize coordinators. "A distinguishing feature of the Reaxys PhD Prize is the continued relationships that the finalists have both with each other and previous finalists via the Reaxys Prize Club, which provides networking, communication and career enhancement opportunities."

This year's finalists are:

  • Laura Ackerman from the Weix group, University of Rochester
  • Xiangzhao Ai from the Xing group, Nanyang Technological University
  • Dalal Alezi from the Eddaoudi group, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
  • Nickolas Anderson from the Bart group, Purdue University – West Lafayette
  • Sukdev Bag from the Maiti group, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
  • Cyril Bucher from the Burns group, Stanford University
  • Nicholas Calta from the Kanatzidis group, Northwestern University
  • Yuxiang Chen from the Jin group, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Chuyang Cheng from the Stoddart group, Northwestern University
  • Nicholas Chilton from the Winpenny group, University of Manchester
  • Lauren Doyle from the Piers group, University of Calgary
  • Samuel Drew from the Sherburn group, Australian National University
  • Pascal Ellerbrock from the Trauner group, Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich
  • Priyabrata Ghana from the Filippou group, University of Bonn
  • Ryan Gianatassio from the Baran group, Scripps Research Institute
  • Sebastian Grundner from the Lercher group, Technical University of Munich
  • Fathy Hassan from the Chen group, University of Waterloo
  • Jamie Hicks from the Jones group, Monash University
  • Alexander Hinz from the Schulz group, University of Rostock
  • Sarah Holliday from the McCulloch group, Imperial College London
  • Cedric Hugelshofer from the Magauer group, Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich
  • Matthias Hussong from the Straub group, University of Heidelberg
  • Jiheong Kang from the Aida group, University of Tokyo
  • Isaac Kimsey from the Al-Hashimi group, Duke University
  • Koji Kubota from the Ito group, Hokkaido University
  • Matthias Leiendecker from the Rueping group, RWTH Aachen University
  • Houhua Li from the Mazet group, University of Geneva
  • Jarad Mason from the Long group, University of California Berkeley
  • Yusuke Masuda from the Murakami group, Kyoto University
  • Yudai Matsuda from the Abe group, University of Tokyo
  • Manish Mishra from the Desiraju group, Indian Institute of Science
  • Mattia Monaco from the List group, Max Planck Institute
  • Kei Muto from the Itami group, Nagoya University
  • Amit Nagarkar from the Kilbinger group, University of Fribourg
  • Masaya Nakajima from the Nishida group, Chiba University
  • Eric Newcomb from the Ferreira group, University of Georgia
  • Hiroya Oshima from the Yamaguchi group, Nagoya University
  • Quanquan Pang from the Nazar group, University of Waterloo
  • Liam Sharninghausen from the Crabtree group, Yale University
  • Megan Shaw from the Bower group, University of Bristol
  • Robert Straker from the Anderson group, University of Oxford
  • Yu Sun from the Li group, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Conghui Tang from the Jiao group, Peking University
  • Alison Wendlandt from the Stahl group, University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Tomoki Yoneda from the Osuka group, Kyoto University


Find out more about the Reaxys PhD Prize and Symposium.

About Reaxys

Reaxys empowers chemistry research and development by providing structure, property and reaction data, experimental procedures and literature. It is designed to support early drug discovery, education, material selection and synthesis planning; its capabilities include data export and integration to enable harmonized analysis of in-house and external data. Reaxys improves R&D productivity by delivering the facts the way chemists need them.

Reaxys is a trademark of RELX Intellectual Properties SA, used under license.

About Elsevier

Elsevier is a world-leading provider of information solutions that enhance the performance of science, health, and technology professionals, empowering them to make better decisions, deliver better care, and sometimes make groundbreaking discoveries that advance the boundaries of knowledge and human progress. Elsevier provides web-based, digital solutions — among them ScienceDirect, Scopus, Elsevier Research Intelligence and ClinicalKey — and publishes over 2,500 journals, including The Lancet and Cell, and more than 33,000 book titles, including a number of iconic reference works. Elsevier is part of RELX Group, a world-leading provider of information and analytics for professional and business customers across industries.

Media Contact

Christopher Capot
[email protected]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.