Science news and articles on health, environment, global warming, stem cells, bird flu, autism, nanotechnology, dinosaurs, evolution -- the latest discoveries in astronomy, anthropology, biology, chemistry, climate & bioengineering, computers, engineering ; medicine, math, physics, psychology, technology, and more from the world's leading research centers universities.

Award winners to speak at the 2017 ASBMB annual meeting


BETHESDA, Md., Aug. 24, 2016 — The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will hold its annual meeting April 22 – 26 in Chicago. The meeting will be held in conjunction with the Experimental Biology conference, at which five other sponsoring societies and multiple guest societies also will hold their annual meetings.

Below is a list of the ASBMB's annual award lecturers. For a day-by-day schedule of the ASBMB annual meeting, visit

ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education

Erin Dolan, The University of Texas at Austin
Talk title: When undergraduate research becomes the curriculum
More information about this award:

Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Douglas Robinson, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Talk title: From dividing cells to helping students overcome socio?economic barriers
More information about this award:

Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in BioMedical Science

Ronald Evans, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
*Award lecture will be given at the 2018 ASBMB Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA
More information about this award:

DeLano Award for Computational Sciences

Brian K. Shoichet, University of California, San Francisco
*Talk title pending
More information about this award:

Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research

Gregory D. Fairn, St. Michael's Hospital
Talk title: Subcellular localization and dynamics of lipids
More information about this award:

Alice and C.C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology

David L. Sibley, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
Talk title: Genetic analysis of pathogenesis in Toxoplasma gondii
More information about this award:

ASBMB-Merck Award

Judith Frydman, Stanford University
*Talk title pending
More information about this award:

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award

Susan S. Taylor, University of California, San Diego
Talk title: Lessons learned from PKA
More information about this award:

Herbert Tabor Research Award

Susan Gottesman, National Cancer Institute
Talk title: Post?transcriptional regulation and the bacterial response to stress
More information about this award:

ASBMB Young Investigator Award

Sinisa Urban, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
*Talk title pending
More information about this award:

Avanti Award in Lipids

Volker Haucke, Leibniz Institut für Molekulare Pharmakologie
Talk title: Phosphoinositide conversion in the endolysosomal system
More information about this award:

William C. Rose Award

William T. Wickner, Dartmouth Medical School
Talk title: Reconstituted membrane fusion: 5 lipids, 4 SNAREs, 3 chaperones, 2 nucleotides, and HOPS, all Dancing in a Ring
More information about this award:

Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry

Wei Yang, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institute of Health
Talk title: Time?resolved X?ray crystallographic analyses of enzyme catalysis reveal non?equilibrium reaction processes
More information about this award:


Media Contact

Allison Frick
[email protected]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.