American Association of Anatomists awards lifetime achievement in anatomy

BETHESDA, MD (March 29, 2016) – The American Association of Anatomists (AAA) is honored to announce its 2016 award winners. All awards will be presented during the Closing Awards Ceremony at AAA's 2016 annual meeting at Experimental Biology (EB) in San Diego, CA. The ceremony is being held at The Marriot Marquis San Diego Marina on Tuesday, April 5, 2016, at 7pm.

The 2016 award winners are:

Henry Gray Distinguished Educator Award: Robert W. Ogilvie, Ph.D., Medical University of South Carolina and University of South Carolina

Dr. Ogilvie will receive AAA's highest education award, supported by Elsevier, for his distinguished work in human anatomy education. He will be presented with a plaque and an honorarium. In addition, he will present a lecture, "On the Way to Virtual," during the Henry Gray Distinguished Educator Award Symposia, Tuesday, April 5th at the San Diego Convention Center. His talk will showcase the incremental application of new technologies during the digital microscopy movement to facilitate students learning of histology. He will conclude with an example of the application of virtual microscopy in teaching histology in an online histology course.

Henry Gray Scientific Achievement Medal: John R. Sladek, Jr., Ph.D., University of Colorado

Dr. Sladek will receive AAA's highest scientific award, supported by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, recognizing all of his unique meritorious contributions and achievements in the anatomical sciences. He will be presented with an award and an honorarium. Dr. Sladek will also lead a lecture, "The Repairable Brain: An Anatomists View," Tuesday, April 5th at EB. His talk highlights the research he undertook on brain repair throughout his career related to diseases such as Parkinson's, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Alzheimer's, Huntington's, and many others.

A.J. Ladman Exemplary Service Award: Robert D. Specian, Ph.D., FAAA, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center

Dr. Specian will be honored for his exceptional service to the society and mentorship and outreach in the field of anatomy. This award is supported by Wiley. He will be honored with a plaque and honorarium. Dr. Specian is a Fellow of the AAA and has been a member of the Association since 1984. He has served on both the Board of Directors and numerous committees.

Basmajian Award:

Peter Ward, Ph.D., of West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine, will be honored for his excellence in teaching gross anatomy and his accomplishments in biomedical research and scholarship in education. He will be presented with a plaque and honorarium.

Postdoctoral Fellowship Awards:

Alexia Hulin, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, Emily Middleton, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Missouri, and William Munoz, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Research Associate, Stowers Institute for Medical Research will each be honored with a fellowship of $20,000. This fellowship is intended to provide salary support for recipients in their pursuit of postdoctoral research.

Keith & Marion Moore Young Anatomists' Publications Award:

Morgan Churchill, Ph.D. Postdoctoral Researcher at the New York Institute of Technology. He is being recognized for having the best publication by a young anatomist in our society's journal, "Functional Implications of Variation in Tooth Spacing and Crown Size in Pinnipedimorpha (Mammalia: Carnivora)" in The Anatomical Record.


About AAA: The American Association of Anatomists (AAA) was founded by Joseph Leidy in Washington, D.C. in 1888 for the "advancement of anatomical science." Today, via research, education and professional development activities, AAA serves as the professional home for an international community of biomedical researchers and educators focusing on the structural foundation of health and disease.

About Experimental Biology (EB): EB is an annual meeting comprised of over 14,000 scientists representing six sponsoring societies and multiple guest societies. Primary focus areas include anatomy, physiology, pathology, biochemistry, nutrition and pharmacology. EB is open to all members of the sponsoring and guest societies and nonmembers interested in the latest research impacting life sciences. Attendees represent scientists, academic institutions, government agencies, non-profit organizations and private corporations.

Media Contact

Elizabeth Sas
[email protected]

%d bloggers like this: