AGS honors expert & emerging geriatrics leaders at 2017 Annual Scientific Meeting


Credit: (C) 2017, American Geriatrics Society

Celebrating its seventy-fifth anniversary in 2017, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) announced that it will honor more than 15 leading researchers, clinicians, educators, and emerging health professionals who have made outstanding contributions to high-quality, person-centered care for older adults. Awards will be presented at the AGS 2017 Annual Scientific Meeting, May 18-20, 2017 (pre-conference program on May 17), at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas.

Choosing Wisely® Champion Award

Eric Anthony Lee, MD

Clinician of the Year Award

Fatima Sheikh, MD, CMD, MPH

Clinical Student Research Award

Laura Hatchman

Jessica Rizzuto

David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award

Barbara Resnick, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP, AGSF

Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award


Edward Henderson Award

Richard M. Allman, MD

Edward Henderson Student Award

Thom Ringer, JD, MPhil

Jeffrey H. Silverstein Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in the Surgical and Related Medical Specialties

Anne M. Suskind, MD, MS

New Investigator Award

Andrew Cohen, MD, DPhil

Lorena Gonzalez, MD

Benjamin Han, MD, MPH

Supakanya Wongrakpanich, MD

Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award

Kristen Thornton, MD, FAAFP, CWSP, AGSF

Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award

Dae Kim, MD, MPH, ScD

Outstanding Junior Research Manuscript Award

Halima Amjad, MD, MPH

Outstanding Mid-Career Clinician Educator of the Year Award

Lisa Walke, MD, AGSF

Scientist-in-Training Research Award

Andrea E. Daddato, MS

Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement in Clinical Investigation

Sei Lee, MD, MAS


About the American Geriatrics Society

Founded in 1942, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit society of geriatrics healthcare professionals that has–for 75 years–worked to improve the health, independence, and quality of life of older people. Its nearly 6,000 members include geriatricians, geriatric nurses, social workers, family practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and internists. The Society provides leadership to healthcare professionals, policymakers, and the public by implementing and advocating for programs in patient care, research, professional and public education, and public policy. For more information, visit

About the David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award

The AGS created the David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award in 2002 to honor David H. Solomon, MD, AGSF, for his commitment to community service and the advancement of knowledge in caring for older adults. Dr. Solomon was the founding Director of the Center on Aging at the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles. He will forever be remembered for his excellence in research, teaching, patient care, and administration.

About the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting

The AGS Annual Scientific Meeting is the premier educational event in geriatrics, providing the latest information on clinical care, research on aging, and innovative models of care delivery. More than 2,500 nurses, pharmacists, physicians, physician assistants, social workers, long-term care and managed care providers, healthcare administrators, and others will convene May 18-20, 2017 (pre-conference program on May 17), at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas, to advance geriatrics knowledge and skills through state-of-the-art educational sessions and research presentations. For more information, visit

Media Contact

Daniel E Trucil
[email protected]

Original Source